For the Women’s U19 WFC in 2020, a new playing system will be used. 16 teams will play in one division (rather than the old A- & B-divisions) and will be divided into four groups according to ranking and ballot. After the group stage, the 4th placed teams in the two higher-ranked groups will play a cross-over match against the top placed teams in the lower two groups. These matches will determine the groups they will be placed in for the next event, giving the possibility for two teams (rather than only one) to move up or down between the groups.

Group AGroup B
Finland (2)Sweden (1)*
Poland (4)Czech Republic (3)
Switzerland (5)Norway (6)
Germany (7)Latvia (9)
Group CGroup D
Slovakia (8)Russia (10)

Canada (13)Austria (12)
New Zealand (15)Australia (14)
USA (16)China (-)


This change moves the U19 WFC closer to the playing system that is used for adult WFCs, however it means that the U19 WFC final round is still played in five days and that only a team within the top eight can win the title.

In regards to the effect on qualification for the following WFC, this will not change – it will remain that the top nine placed teams will directly qualify for the next U19 WFC, however, this does make the 9th place match one of the most important of the tournament. All other remaining places will be determined by regional quotas &/or qualification tournaments.

Example of matches after the group stage:

Day 1 of play-offs / placement matches:
15th place: 4th grp C – 4th grp D
13th place: 3rd grp D – 3rd grp C
11th place: 2nd grp C – 2nd grp D
5th place: 3rd grp A – 3rd grp B
Qualification 1: 4th grp A – 1st grp D
Qualification 2: 4th grp B – 1st grp C
Semi-final 1: 1st grp A – 2nd grp B
Semi-final 2: 1st grp B – 2nd grp A

Day 2 of play-offs / placement matches:
9th place: Loser Q1 – Loser Q2
7th place: Winner Q1 – Winner Q2
3rd place: Loser Semi 1 – Loser Semi 2
Final: Winner Semi 1 – Winner Semi 2


For information on the registered teams read the news article on the record number of participating teams.